You are currently viewing Notice of Intention to Designate the Orono Library as a heritage property

Notice of Intention to Designate the Orono Library as a heritage property

 

In the Matter of the Ontario Heritage Act, R.S.O. 1990, c.O. 18 and in the Matter of the Lands and Premises Known Municipally as 127 Church Street North, Orono in The Municipality of Clarington

Notice of Intention to Designate

Take Notice that the Council of the Corporation of the Municipality of Clarington intends to designate the property located at 127 Church Street North, Orono (Orono Library) in the Municipality of Clarington, as a property of architectural and historical value under Part IV of the Ontario Heritage Act, R.S.O. 1990, c.O.18.

Reasons for Proposed Designation

127 Church Street North, Orono, currently Orono Library, is located on a large lot on the corner of Church Street North and Centreview Street. The property consists of a two storey residential structure that was built in 1882 with a one-and-a-half storey 1970s addition on the south side. It has recently become home to the Orono Mill Stone, a piece of record of the only mill in Orono in the 1850s.

Statement of Significance and List of Character-Defining Features

Physical/Design Value

127 Church Street North, Orono is a fine example of Italianate residences in Clarington. The two-storey red brick structure is typical of the Italianate style through its massing and rich ornamentation. Details include the usage of a 1/3 running bond brickwork pattern, the pencil-lined mortar between the bricks, a low-pitched roof, single bracketed eaves, arched windows crested with cement scroll with label stops and an elaborate enclosed entranceway with railing and decorative pillars.127 Church Street North, Orono displays a high degree of craftsmanship and artistic value through its decorative finishes.

Historical/Associative Value

The building holds a unique place in history, having been built under the ownership of John Waddell, a prominent figure in Orono. Mr. Waddell, a major employer, founded the Orono Furniture Factory in 1868 and was half-owner of the Orono Cheese Factor, which was built in 1874. He also owned the North American Hotel, which was situated on the corner of Main Street and Centre Street for a period of time.

The building was the home of his two children, Mary and Roddock. Mary Waddell was the first female appointed to the mathematics staff at the University of Toronto. She entered Osgoode Hall in 1921 and was called to the Bar at Osgoode Hall in 1924. Mary Waddell was the only female to be both a lawyer and a faculty member in mathematics at the University of Toronto at that time. She was the first Canadian woman to join the American Mathematical Association.

Roddock Waddell was a practising lawyer who set up his practice in Orono in the 1930s. He was also known as an active member of several local boards.

Since 1969, the property has been under the ownership of the Clarke Public Library Board. It served as the Clarke Museum until 1985, preserving and showcasing local history. Today, it stands as the Orono Library, a hub of knowledge and community engagement.

Contextual Value

The property contains mature trees framing the building, including black locust, black walnut, and a large copper beech tree on the west lawn in front of the building. These may have been planted before the structure was constructed.

The lawns within the premises provide the only park-like setting space within the downtown core. 127 Church Street North, Orono maintains and supports the historical character of the downtown core of Orono.

The property’s historical architectural style, setback, massing, placement and park-like setting contribute to the historical character of downtown. It is perceived as a local landmark and a hub of community life.

Description of Heritage Attributes

127 Church Street North, Orono is a fine example of Italianate residences. The property contains the following heritage attributes that reflect this value:

  • Two-storey Italianate style residence
  • Façade with 1/3 running bond and pencil-lined mortar between the bricks
  • Low-pitched roof
  • Eaves with decorative brackets
  • Two over two and smaller arched windows with cement scroll with label stops
  • Angled three-sided bays
  • Raised porch with wooden floor and four elaborate wooden posts
  • Enclosed entranceway with glass panels and wooden panels, top railing, decorative brackets, ornate pillars and wooden door

127 Church Street North, Orono was constructed under the ownership of John Waddell, a major employer in Orono, in the 1860s. The property contains the following heritage attributes that reflect this value:

  • Two-storey Italianate style residence

127 Church Street North, Orono maintains and supports the historical character of downtown Orono. The property contains the following heritage attributes that reflect this value:

  • Two-storey Italianate style residence
  • Structure placement, orientation and setback on the property
  • Park-like setting with mature trees

Other Heritage Attributes

  • The Orono Mill Stone

Any person who objects to a proposed designation may, within thirty days after the date of publication of the notice of intention, give the Clerk of the Municipality a notice of objection setting out the reason for the objection and all relevant facts.

If a notice of objection has been given, the Council of the Municipality of Clarington shall consider the objection and make a decision whether or not to withdraw the notice of intention to designate the property within 90 days after the end of the 30-day period.

Dated at the Municipality of Clarington this 5th day of June, 2024

June Gallagher, B.A., Dipl. M.A.
Municipal Clerk
40 Temperance Street
Bowmanville, ON  L1C 3A6

Content and Photo Credit: Municipality of Clarington